The worst insult imaginable

Does anyone actually think that saying “you look tired” is flattering?

Because it’s not.

In fact, I’m going to argue that it’s probably the most insulting thing you can say to a person. It makes the person feel good because they’re not explicitly saying “you look like shit” but they’re basically saying that.

Stop it. Sometimes I look tired because I don’t wear eyeliner (people confuse the different look for tired). Or it’s incredibly hot out. Or maybe, I am actually tired because I’m having problems sleeping due to some problem that’s keeping me awake. Or finals. Or whatever the reason, don’t point it out!

Next time you feel like telling someone they “look tired” (or pale, as my dad will actually say), think to yourself… “would I tell this person they look like shit?” No? Well, then don’t tell them they look tired. Tell them they look beautiful, radiant or refreshed. Or don’t say anything at all.

Just shut up.

Leave a Reply

