Your nasal passages will thank you

You ever heard of a Neti Pot? If not…. this video will give you an introduction:

Basically it’s  a little pot, often ceramic or plastic that helps clear your sinuses if they’re stuffed up due to allergies, a cold, dry air (from fans), etc. You shoot saline solution (fancy word for salt water) up one nostril and it comes out the other, taking out everything in it’s path.

Let’s be real, sinuses is a code word for having way too much snot and boogers up your nose that you cannot breathe. I suffer from this very often. In the Spring I get horrible allergies from the pollen and whatnot in the air, in the Summer I get stuffed up from sleeping with fans on, in the Fall it’s more allergies and in the Winter I happen to catch every single cold imaginable. I’ve tried so many medications for all of these symptoms, they offer momentary relief but it’s not for long.

Last week I gave the neti pot a try. I thought I’d need to go to some health food store to pick one up, but was surprised to find it at my local Superstore Pharmacy and it was relatively cheap too (the package comes complete with plastic pot and 30 saline solution packages for $8). It wasn’t as horrifying as I thought it would be, it wasn’t. It was actually pretty cool because it cleared my nostrils very well. I mean, I could breathe!

The most important thing to remember is to breathe through your nose whilst doing it,  otherwise it goes the wrong way and it’s worse than getting chlorinated water up your nose.

Apparently Oprah had this on her show a while back and it skyrocketed in popularity. I didn’t know this until I began googling it tonight. But screw Oprah. I’m approving it and telling all stuffed up nose sufferers to try it. Isn’t that worth more than Oprah’s opinion?

If not, then imagine Oprah neti potting her boogers out of her nose. That’s a fun laugh, right?

Leave a Reply

