Apparently I’m a review site now

It seems like all I do here anymore is reviews. My excuse is the normal one, school is in session so I don’t have so much time to be writing or thinking of creative things to rant about or write.

Illustrating this point is that I signed up for Netflix almost two weeks ago and only finally watched my first movie last night.
If you’ve never heard of Netfix, let me inform you. It’s an internet based service that you sign up for and you can stream unlimited movies to your computer, television (via wii or playstation) or phone.

I’ve heard good things about it from people who have had it in the US for a few years now, but it just arrived in Canada recently. One of my coworkers signed up right away and raved about it so I decided to give it a shot. It’s not that big of a risk, they are offering the first month free and after that it’s only $8/month.

The sign up is easy, all done online. At that point you can choose how you’ll be viewing the movies, having a Wii they told me they’d send me a disc so I could watch them on TV instead of on my computer screen. Pretty sweet since I can’t just sit and watch a movie, I have to be doing something else, often blogging or reading random things online. The only downside about this so far is that I haven’t received the disc yet, they sent me an email to let me know the discs were on back order but it has since been send out last Tuesday. Here’s hoping it gets here this week.

The whole idea is pretty genius, $8 for all the movies and television shows streamed right to your computer. My only apprehension is that most of the movies online right now are older or straight to video or things I’ve never heard of before. It could be because it’s only the first month they’ve been in Canada and everyone is still on their free month of service, but I’d like to see more recent releases available if I’m going to be spending $8 a month on the movies or TV shows.

I’ll give it a few months to see if I’m using the service and if the selection improves. To be honest the price is pretty good, because if you’re renting even 2 movies a month from Rogers or Blockbuster you’ve already spent more than that.

As for that movie I watched yesterday, it was a documentary called Maxed Out and it’s about credit card debt in the USA. Pretty good look at debt in the US, also gave me ammo for people who bitch about credit in Canada to me.

I think if anything I’ll enjoy the amount of documentaries I’ve seen on the website. So far most of the movies I’ve considered viewing have been of that genre, but then again I do have a deep love for docs.

Leave a Reply

