Landslide

Glee featured one of my favorite songs ever tonight, Landslide. In the episode Brittany, Santana and Gwyneth Paltrow sang it for the Glee club, for reasons I’m not quite sure of.  Seriously, I have never equated this song with what they got from it. I understand music can mean many different things, but this I do not see a correlation. They could have used a better song to say what they were trying to… not that I complain about any inclusion of Fleetwood Mac. And another thing… anyone else completely confused by that storyline? Is Santana a lesbian now? Bi?

What saddens me now is that over on the Twitter the Dixie Chicks are trending because so many people are tweeting about how they originated the song.

MAIS NON!!!!!

Ladies and gentlemen… may I present to you the wonderful, magical and talented Stevie Nicks, who wrote and sung this song which is from the Fleetwood Mac album, Rumours.

While I will admit the Dixie Chicks version is also very good (one of the only times I’ll say a cover song almost lives up to the original), I cannot help but feel sad for those that haven’t discovered Ms. Nicks and Fleetwood Mac.

Anyone have thoughts on the Santana/Brittany storyline right now? Any ideas about how this song led to Santana’s revelation? Is she gay/bi now?

For those who aren’t following Glee (and for those who are)… here’s a question: what’s your favorite cover song? Not a Glee song, but a cover of a song you enjoy that you feel lives up to (or comes close to) the original.

Aside from Landslide, I’d also throw in Wild Horses by The Sundays (originally by The Rolling Stones); Crazy by Alanis Morrisette (originally by Seal); Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow by Amy Winehouse (originally by The Shirrells) and Hallelujah by Rufus Wainright (originally by Leonard Cohen, remade by everyone).

Leave your comments, I want to hear from you!

One thought on “Landslide

Leave a Reply

