Italians are not to be taken seriously

I love Italians. Not just because I have a family full of them and I technically am one, but because they’re hilarious. And because of this, I cannot take the country seriously either.

They vote for Berlusconi, the Prime Minister who had no problem admitting he cheated on his wife while in office but was horrified that people would accuse him of paying for prostitutes. The nerve! He’s a handsome old orange man who would never need to pay for sex!

As a citizen, I’m going to vote for him in the next election. He’s comical and a great character!

I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve convinced myself it’s not a real country, but a boot-shaped piece of land there to provide comic relief in this serious and stressful world we live in.

I now have found another reason not take the Italians seriously. Meet Patrizia Gucci…

She’s in prison right now for ordering a hit to have her ex-husband, Maurizio Gucci, killed. If the name didn’t give it away, he was former the head of the Gucci fashion house.

This all happened in 1995, she was sentenced to 29 years in prison and is now up for parole. When brought before the parole board in Milan today she had this to say:

“No thanks as it would mean getting a job and I have never worked a day in my life. I would prefer to stay in my cell and water my plants and take care of my ferret.”

How am I supposed to take Italians seriously?!?

Source

Leave a Reply

