Nobody can be that excited

I really hate the exclamation point.

Actually, I don’t hate the exclamation point, but the people who use it way too much.

I see people on Twitter or Facebook overusing it way too much…

Me and my girls are going out for dinner!!! Then to see Pitch Perfect! I love Rebel Wilson!!!

I just had the most amazing glass of wine!!! I may be bad and have another glass!!! Don’t tell my boss!

I wish I was exaggerating.

No one can be that excited about movies or wine. Do people not read this to themselves and realize that the exclamation points are completely wrong?

The worst is on Twitter when someone would rather commit some other punctuation or spelling sin so they can make sure they have !!

OMG!! My boyfriend just came home & bought me roses!! Have the best boyfriend eva!!! I luv u so much Joe!! Girls keep ur hands off of him!!

The exclamation point has a time and place. To show strong feelings towards something, usually happiness and anger. It can also show shouting. Here’s what Wikipedia had to say about it:

A sentence ending in an exclamation mark may be an exclamation (such as “Wow!”, “Boo!”), or an imperative (“Stop!”), or may indicate astonishment: “They were the footprints of a gigantic duck!” Exclamation marks are occasionally placed mid-sentence with a function similar to a comma, for dramatic effect, although this usage is obsolescent: “On the walk, oh! there was a frightful noise.”

Informally, exclamation marks may be repeated for additional emphasis (“That’s great!!!”), but this practice is generally considered unacceptable in formal prose.

There is no need to abuse the exclamation point!

(properly used exclamation point)

Leave a Reply

