oh so shiny

If you tell me to eat a food because it’s good for me, I will probably attempt to eat more of it. Unless it doesn’t taste good, then I’ll probably not eat it.

Here’s what I have learned, if you tell me something will make my hair shinier and healthier, I will find a way to consume it regardless of taste (I usually blend up the foods I don’t particularly like into a smoothie to mask the taste). As a curly/frizzy haired lady who applies a lot of heat to her hair, I’m always looking to keep things shiny and defrizzed.

Image

Here are things I have consumed for shiny hair:

  • Kale
  • Fish oil (important to find the one that doesn’t give you fish burps)
  • Fish
  • Broccoli
  • Various nuts
  • Eggs
  • Poultry
  • Skim milk
  • Greek yogurt
  • Whole grain bread
  • Pregnancy vitamins

Granted, many of these foods I eat because they are tasty and I genuinely like them. And of course I want to reap the other health benefits, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I mainly wanted a natural way to make my hair shiny.

I think the weirdest one is the pregnancy vitamins (just buy your usual brand, but the ones made for expectant moms). They have more zinc and folic acid, both which help your hair become shinier. It’s a bonus if you ever find yourself pregnant unexpectedly because your kid isn’t lacking the nutrients for however long it takes for you to figure out you’re knocked up.

Bonus tip: Use coconut oil as a leave in treatment instead of buying the expensive stuff from your salon. Just apply to your hair (if you have the solid stuff just warm it up in your hands and spread on), concentrating on the ends. Leave on at least 20 minutes, I like to wrap my hair in a towel while waiting to warm it up if I’m only leaving it for 20, then shampoo and condition as usual. Depending on how much you use, you may need to shampoo twice before conditioning.

In the name of beauty I have gone to the gym with the oil in my hair (all ladies gym ftw!) and walked the dog. I also like to put it in before starting my house cleaning so when I finish hours later (I’m a fan of procrastination), it’s had a deep soak.

Any other tips for someone who may need to add a little shine to their hair?

Leave a Reply

