Kickstarter

Kickstarter says it is the world’s largest funding platform for creative projects.

If you’re the stereotypical “starving artist” or someone without the money but just wants to get their dream project made it seems like a great way to try to raise money. But as someone who has never visited Kickstarter until two minutes ago so I could get the link for the opening line of this blog post, I don’t see it being used that way.

Going off what I’ve read in the media and on Twitter, Kickstarter is a place for actors to go to get money for their movies. The same actors who have millions of dollars in the bank make quirky videos to get you, the people, to put forward your money so the actor can make a movie they wrote.

Obviously right now I’m talking about the Zach Braff project, which you can read more about on Mashable because I can’t figure out how to insert the video into the post.

Braff says he doesn’t want the studios to make it (although it sounds like they would love to get their hands on Garden State 2, but not Garden State 2), because they will try to change the script and want to cast other people than who Braff wants.

Fair enough.

As someone who may invest (but not really because you’re not getting anything back for your donation), why would you give to something that already seem like it’s going to be shitty? I mean, the studio execs make really good money because they have a pretty good eye for when something will fail or succeed and what needs to change in order to avoid failure.

And yes, I know the execs are not always right. John Carter was supposed to be a huge success and bombed. And Pitch Perfect was a bigger success than the studios originally thought it would be.

The point is, Zach Braff has the money he needs. He’s asking for $2 million dollars and while I haven’t lurked over his shoulder to take a peek at the balance in his chequing account at the ATM recently, I feel like if he really wants this made he could do it himself.

And if Jim Parsons really wants to be a pool boy, he could use his Big Bang Theory money to help out.

I don’t doubt Zach Braff will succeed. People will pay money for this movie just like they funded the Veronica Mars movie.

But I don’t get it.

I tried to imagine what could it take to get me to donate to a Kickstarter. I never watched Veronica Mars but I love, love love Friday Night Lights. Would I throw in some money for Coach, Mrs Taylor and Riggins to come back for a 2 hour movie? Nope. If they needed money to fund the new Pitch Perfect 2, would I do it? Nadda.

I just feel like if I’m giving my money to some creative project I would rather give it to someone who actually needs the money to get their dreams made. When you’re a star and you can’t get a studio to back your creative vision as is, then why should the people?

Why doesn’t Zach Braff believe in his own movie?

What do you think? Have you ever given to a Kickstarter and are you a fan of actors who have the money asking people for more? I’m genuinely curious.

2 thoughts on “Kickstarter

  1. I really agree with you as far as Zach Braff’s movie idea is concerned. However part of me wonders if he thinks the movie will be a bigger success if he does it this way, if people feel like they have been involved somehow in the making of it. It could be his genius plot? Who knows.

    Also, my aunt actually recently published a book via Kickstarter! It was her first time doing it and it really worked!! She has published several books with big time agents but wanted to try something different for this one. I’ll have to ask her why, more specifically, she chose to do it that way. Especially since her controversial book “I Want To Be Left Behind” was a pretty big (relatively) hit before this kickstarter book. Interesting.

    Here’s her kickstarter page if you’re interested! http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1770521679/dive-into-the-future-in-a-sci-fi-fantasy-the-drown/posts/386713

    Great post, good thoughts in there 🙂

    • I have no doubt it’s all part of the marketing plan, it seems to be working for him. So good for him, I guess.

      That’s awesome for your aunt! I would love to hear more about why she decided to go the Kickstarter route, this whole crowdsourcing for a budget has me intrigued and I’ll probably kill a few hours in the next week googling as much as I can about it.

Leave a Reply

